Back On Top Of B1G Heap

By Jeff Rapp, March 7th, 2017

Indiana’s Assembly Hall has been a house of horrors over the years for several Ohio State teams, most notably the men’s basketball squad. But on Sunday it was the setting for OSU’s fourth Big Ten wrestling title and second in three years.

The Buckeyes bested the conference field with a team score of 139.5. Ohio State produced four individual titles: Nathan Tomasello (133), Bo Jordan (174), Kollin Moore (197) and Kyle Snyder (285).

Penn State finished in second place with 130 points, followed by third-place Iowa with 112.5. Nebraska finished in fourth place with 102.5 points and Minnesota rounded out the top five with 93 team points.

Penn State’s Jason Nolf was named the Big Ten Wrestler of the Year, while teammate Zain Retherford earned Outstanding Wrestler of the Championships honors. Ohio State’s Tom Ryan was named Big Ten Coach of the Year and the Buckeyes’ Moore was named Big Ten Freshman of the Year.

At 133 pounds, Tomasello, the top-ranked participant, posted a clutch 5-4 win over third-seeded Cory Clark of Iowa to win his third Big Ten championship. Tomasello recorded a buzzer-beating escape for the winning point. His previous two titles came in the 125-pound division.,

Ohio State’s Micah Jordan got to the finals at 149 pounds but lost to No. 1 Retherford, who earned a 16-1 technical fall win.

Top-seeded at 174 pounds, Jordan claimed his first Big Ten title, winning with a 6-4 sudden victory decision over No. 2 Mark Hall of Penn State. The title, Jordan’s first, comes after two previous trips to the finals at 165 pounds.

At 184 pounds, Iowa’s Sam Brooks, a No. 2 seed, claimed a 12-2 major decision over No. 4 Myles Martin of Ohio State, earning his second-straight Big Ten title.

Second-seeded Moore of Ohio State won the 197-pound title, earning a 15-11 decision over No. 1 Brett Pfarr of Minnesota. Moore took any remaining drama out of the team race when he held on for victory. He scored 11 first-period points, highlight by a takedown a four-point near fall, to give him all the distance he’d need on the scoreboard.

Rounding out the group of individual Big Ten Champions was Snyder, who claimed an 8-5 decision over second-seeded Connor Medbery of Wisconsin. This was Snyder’s second-straight conference title and with the victory, Snyder becomes the first Olympic Gold Medalist to subsequently win a conference title in NCAA wrestling history.

Snyder is now a three-time Big Ten finalist and two-time champion. He’s won 23 collegiate matches in a row while over the last 12 months claiming two Big Ten crowns, a NCAA title and Olympic gold medal.

Jose Rodriguez and true freshman Luke Pletcher also earned automatic bids to the NCAA Championships, which will be held March 16-18 in St. Louis – bringing OSU’s total of wrestlers moving on to eight.

Rodriguez punched his ticket with a pin of Purdue’s Ben Thornton in the seventh place match at 125 pounds. Pletcher also won a consolation semifinal match in the morning session and finished fourth at 141 pounds.

The complete list of Big Ten individual awards and All-Big Ten honorees can be found below, while the full results are attached.

Wrestler of the Year: Jason Nolf, Penn State
Freshman of the Year: Kollin Moore, Ohio State
Coach of the Year: Tom Ryan, Ohio State
Outstanding Wrestler of the Championships: Zain Retherford, Penn State

Isaiah Martinez, Illinois
Sammy Brooks, Iowa
Thomas Gilman, Iowa
Bo Jordan, Ohio State
Kollin Moore, Ohio State
Kyle Snyder, Ohio State
Nathan Tomasello, Ohio State
Jason Nolf, Penn State
Zain Retherford, Penn State
Anthony Ashnault, Rutgers

1. Ohio State – 139.5
2. Penn State – 130.0
3. Iowa – 112.5
4. Nebraska – 102.5
5. Minnesota – 93.0
6. Illinois – 88.5
7. Michigan – 83.0
8. Rutgers – 67.5
8. Wisconsin – 67.5
10. Michigan State – 38.5
11. Maryland – 32.0
12. Purdue – 26.0
13. Indiana – 24.5
14. Northwestern – 18.0